Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 585, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    63


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Official Thread for Dayemare's cdma ICS rom- project "cdmaICSrom"

    Unfortuntely for ALL of us, the UPDATE.APP that titan found that we all thought was CDMA due to the context of where it was found, is not actually CDMA. Turns out, its the same damn ROM going around being called an alpha. What does this mean? It's not going to work. It doesn't work beyond the pretty menus and flashy animations.

    As a junior developer, I thought I was on to something - a few people did - because there WAS a big possibility that it was CDMA because the context stated that the update file was "no gsm" - presumably now understood to mean "no google market support." I thought I was bold enough to take this on and make a project out of it. I was wrong.

    While in previous posts I said I had signal and it was working, I wasn't actually in ICS - I just thought I was. I had actually not flashed it correctly - hence being a junior developer - I thought I knew what I was doing, while in fact, I was doing petty edits and simple kitchen work.

    I am sorry for letting the entire forum down. I feel like shit as I had been working on this forever and invested so much time and emotion into it. I pretty much expect all of you to hate me.

    edit: To be fair, wifi works.. this would work AMAZINGLY for someone with inactive service who wants a media player

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails cwwxn.png   dayemarerom.png   dayemarerom.png  
    Last edited by dayemare; 04-10-2012 at 11:24 PM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Member
    Points: 1,216, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    191



    OK so basically the file is extracting with errors is that what your saying? I have really no knowledge of programming or modding for android but maybe I could try something. Is the process your stuck at extracting a zip file?

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 1,216, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    191



    I did a little Googling and I came accross this thread
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/arch...t-1324591.html



    Not sure if it will offer anything useful.
    A few posts down someone attached a file called split.zip which from what the poster says should do everything.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5


  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 585, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    63



    With Android Kitchen, it errors out - but like 25% of the files are still there in the output folder.

    With the perl script, it errors out too - but output maybe 75% of the files. More than Android Kitchen.

    I can muster up enough files to form the basis of a ROM with the two methods, but it isn't complete and literally doesn't work.

    This is the perl script I was talking about:
    Repacking UPDATA.APP (was New version of split_updata.pl) - Android @ MoDaCo




    You must have openperl installed & running cmd as Administrator to even attempt using it.

    Edit: I've googled for hours upon end and have exhausted all possible options - so while I appreciate links from google, I've tried almost everything I can find.

    If we can all help eachother out, this can become a community build.


  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 1,216, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    191



    Yea I came accross the perl script as well but it talked about some of the extracted files still being unknown but give that other thread a look.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 585, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    63



    I have seen them all, my friend. Look at the post above yours.

    We'll get it somehow... I'm waiting for Oriax123 to chime in.......*cough*

    These methods work for every other update file I've used them for - just not this ICS rom, which is why I need help >.< I feel that the file itself is messed up...
    Last edited by dayemare; 04-10-2012 at 08:39 PM.

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,216, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    191



    Quote Originally Posted by dayemare View Post
    I have seen them all, my friend. Look at the post above yours.

    We'll get it somehow... I'm waiting for Oriax123 to chime in.......*cough*
    Ahh OK. Well hopefully those mercury pros will come out of the woodwork and offer some insight.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5

  9. #8
    Recognized Dev |Łĝıť.|
    Points: 49,090, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    oriax123's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 135
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamo, Texas
    Posts
    2,045



    You must be doing something wrong. You need only the the following to extract the update.app

    update.app (rename to updata.app)
    -crc
    -split_updata.pl

    Then terminal:
    perl split_updata.pl updata.app

    Then it will extract everything from the update.app,

    You can just copy the "system.img" to android kitchens original folder and then just create from from working folder and it will let you choose and extract the system.img

    100%

    Easy cheasy.

    ~Sent by Oriax123
    Add me on Facebook.com/oriax123

    If I helped you, please click '*' at the bottom left of that post.



  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,216, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    191



    Quote Originally Posted by oriax123 View Post
    You must be doing something wrong. You need only the the following to extract the update.app

    update.app (rename to updata.app)
    -crc
    -split_updata.pl

    Then terminal:
    perl split_updata.pl updata.app

    Then it will extract everything from the update.app,

    You can just copy the "system.img" to android kitchens original folder and then just create from from working folder and it will let you choose and extract the system.img

    100%

    Easy cheasy.

    ~Sent by Oriax123
    Thanks oriax lets hope that does the trick!

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  11. #10
    Recognized Dev |Łĝıť.|
    Points: 49,090, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    oriax123's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 135
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamo, Texas
    Posts
    2,045



    P.S

    I'm selling my mercury so I won't be able to help out much anymore. Plus its mostly I'm my head since I started making roms and hacks without the phone when I first started.

    Btw you'll need a boot.img, you can get that from one of the ics rooms floating around for the u8860 but you'll have no data. I downloaded the from "titans link" and noticed its the exact same as all the others titan and I have played with. So I don't think it'll work either. Like Erica said before its mostly the kernel source we are waiting on or we would've had more roMs out by now.

    ~Sent by Oriax123
    Add me on Facebook.com/oriax123

    If I helped you, please click '*' at the bottom left of that post.



  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 585, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    63



    Quote Originally Posted by oriax123 View Post
    You must be doing something wrong. You need only the the following to extract the update.app

    update.app (rename to updata.app)
    -crc
    -split_updata.pl

    Then terminal:
    perl split_updata.pl updata.app

    Then it will extract everything from the update.app,

    You can just copy the "system.img" to android kitchens original folder and then just create from from working folder and it will let you choose and extract the system.img

    100%

    Easy cheasy.

    ~Sent by Oriax123
    Do I rename the update.app to updata.app before I do anything? then I use the perl script to extract it, and take just the system.img and form the rom from that? What about boot.img, It doesnt need to change from what I have right?

    edit: saw your bit about boot.img. Do you have a link so I can just get it and go?

  13. #12
    Recognized Dev |Łĝıť.|
    Points: 49,090, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    oriax123's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 135
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamo, Texas
    Posts
    2,045



    Quote Originally Posted by dayemare View Post
    Do I rename the update.app to updata.app before I do anything? then I use the perl script to extract it, and take just the system.img and form the rom from that? What about boot.img, It doesnt need to change from what I have right?

    edit: saw your bit about boot.img. Do you have a link so I can just get it and go?
    Rename first, and I'm on mobile so I can't help with links. Quick Google search for 4.0.3 u8860 will find some links. Don't get the official, look for a custom one so it'll have the boot.img


    ~Sent by Oriax123
    Add me on Facebook.com/oriax123

    If I helped you, please click '*' at the bottom left of that post.



  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 1,216, Level: 19
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    191



    Why don't you grab titans from unleashed prepaids

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 585, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    63



    I realize that we need the source kernel. However, I'm sure many people would be content with just talk/text/wifi and not data if they got the advantage of using ICS. I would =P thats why I am doing this project. thanks oriax! I'll give it a try once my fiance leaves. get pumped, guys

    edit: Oriax, do I need to include gapps for ICS? I have it, but not sure if its needed.

  16. #15
    Recognized Dev |Łĝıť.|
    Points: 49,090, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    oriax123's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 135
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alamo, Texas
    Posts
    2,045



    Quote Originally Posted by dayemare View Post
    I realize that we need the source kernel. However, I'm sure many people would be content with just talk/text/wifi and not data if they got the advantage of using ICS. I would =P thats why I am doing this project. thanks oriax! I'll give it a try once my fiance leaves. get pumped, guys

    edit: Oriax, do I need to include gapps for ICS? I have it, but not sure if its needed.
    Not for testing, just the rooms itself until at least calls and sms work then flash the gapps. The gapps do work so no need to play with that.

    ~Sent by Oriax123
    Add me on Facebook.com/oriax123

    If I helped you, please click '*' at the bottom left of that post.



 

 
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner