Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,566, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    AzEBlueDragon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    Nov 2009
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury


    2 out of 2 members liked this post.

    Lightbulb Possible Fix for Huawei Mercury Video Recording Microphone

    This thread may be useless for some or most, but for others, it can come pretty handy. I may have found the solution to fix the Video Recording Microphone quality issue. Download the App called lgcamera in Google Play, pro or Free, doesn't matter. Download it, and you'll see 2 icons, one is lgcamcorder and one is lgcamera, press the lgcamcorder, then ignore the free version message by pressing back button. Open up the settings menu, scroll down where it says "Audio encoder" and select "AMR_WB (may not be supported)" and your audio problem is fixed and you'll now hear good quality.

    Here's 2 Differences:

    1 is the Original Codec:



    and the other is the lgcamcorder quality:

    (may be still processing)

    Big Differences eeh?


    Now, disadvantages? I'm afraid that you'll need to install the special codec to hear the sound on your computer. Not even K-Lite Codec fixed the problem, maybe VLC Player can play it, idk, i never use VLC.

    Another disadvantage is that you have to use this app to recording the videos if you want good quality. But is worth it eeh?

    There could be other solutions or a fix coming up, but is taking a while to develop a fix or no one found out yet, so we can call this, a temporary solution.

    I may Actually make some better videos, but that's if users request it.
    Last edited by AzEBlueDragon; 05-11-2012 at 12:04 AM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    chaloval
    Guest



    Could the problem with the recording be the "dual microphone" that the mercury has ? I think the back mic does not do anything to improve call quality or video recording. 95% of the people that I'm talking with claim that they hear my voice muffled. Could the dual mic be the problem? I found a setting on the Mercury that you could disable the dual mic.
    press *#*#2846579#*#* next press ProjectMenu>background setting>Dual mic setting>Dual mic switch on or off.
    Could someone with more knowledge tell me if by disabling this mic will help?
    Thanks

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by chaloval View Post
    Could the problem with the recording be the "dual microphone" that the mercury has ? I think the back mic does not do anything to improve call quality or video recording. 95% of the people that I'm talking with claim that they hear my voice muffled. Could the dual mic be the problem? I found a setting on the Mercury that you could disable the dual mic.
    press *#*#2846579#*#* next press ProjectMenu>background setting>Dual mic setting>Dual mic switch on or off.
    Could someone with more knowledge tell me if by disabling this mic will help?
    Thanks
    I disabled the dual mic when I first rooted the phone. But I did it by editing the build.prop file. I think my voice was clearer though

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,566, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%
    AzEBlueDragon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    Nov 2009
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    it did made calls clearer, but not the video quality.

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 10,091, Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Mathesar's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Fresno, CA.
    Posts
    221
    Phone
    Moto G



    Wow thanks for this the audio quality is MUCH better now when recording video It was one of my biggest complaints with the Mercury.

    AMR_NB = Narrowband (Default)
    AMR_WB = Wideband

    It would sound even better if the audio encoder was mp4 / mp3 like most other phones ive used but this is a big improvement either way
    Last edited by Mathesar; 05-11-2012 at 12:03 PM.

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 1,999, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    223
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    Thanks for the Mic tip, everyone says it sounds better now.

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    davidolas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    155
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    ok I disabled the dual mic but I think after a restart it puts it back on, Salas wud you know how to make it stick

    ---------- Post added at 10:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:15 PM ----------

    Oh and its better now with one mic now

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by davidolas View Post
    ok I disabled the dual mic but I think after a restart it puts it back on, Salas wud you know how to make it stick

    ---------- Post added at 10:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:15 PM ----------

    Oh and its better now with one mic now
    Edit the build.prop

    Sent from my M886

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,999, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    South Padre Island, TX
    Posts
    223
    Phone
    Galaxy S3



    Quote Originally Posted by salas View Post
    Edit the build.prop
    Classic Salas.

    I used Rom Toolbox to edit the build.prop and changed the setting to FALSE for the mic, after a reboot the option is gone using the #* code, so I'm guessing there is no dual mic active...but can't say for sure.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    In root explorer I put false and it will stay or else >.> .... but it always stays. Right now I reflashed revokster so its on. I don't even feel like messing with .prop right now.

    Sent from my M886

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    davidolas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    155
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    I just change setting after boot and its good until a reboot, I don't wanna mess with build.prop either

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by davidolas View Post
    I just change setting after boot and its good until a reboot, I don't wanna mess with build.prop either
    Why? Just back it up and change ro.something.dualmic=true to ro.something.dualmic=false.
    If using root explorer it automatically backs up your build.prop

    Sent from my M886

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    davidolas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    155
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Where do I find ro.something , ext?

  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by davidolas View Post
    Where do I find ro.something , ext?
    Ext? The "something" is something I put I cannot remember the line. But use a build.prop editor and should be near the end of the file. Just change it, reboot and waaa laa

    Sent from my M886

  16. #15
    Member
    Points: 1,183, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    davidolas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    san diego
    Posts
    155
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Ah, thanks

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner