Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 25
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 224, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 11.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Customer Since
    July 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    25



    Phone services not working after ICS install. Anyone know how to fix it?

    The installation went fine, and everything appeared to be working until I noticed that my voicemail wouldn't dial. My texts also wouldn't go through. Whenever I tried to dial any numbers, I got a recorded error message saying "Error number 16... switch 551" I figured it was just some problem with ics, and downgraded back to GB until I wanted to mess with it some more, but even after downgrading and restoring from my nandroid backup, I get the same problem. I've tried *228 and checking the settings in ##626*, but everything seems to be going fine from there. I've even tried customer service who didn't seem to know anything about "Error 16" (which is a Sprint error) and they ended up telling me to call Huawei -.-

    I've since called back and am waiting to hear back from their "Advanced customer support team"

    But in the meantime, anyone know what might be going on?
    Last edited by Kavnaugh; 10-06-2012 at 06:39 AM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Banned
    Points: 2,650, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    na
    Posts
    529



    what phone did you try to update. The old Mercury. (one without the dts logo on back)Do you have the mercury that came with 2.3.6 or Do you have recent replacement phone they are calling ice..s I have heard of people having this issue by doing the update from the sd card with the in os update..
    I think doing the update from a pc with the pst.1.o software gives you a better and completely flash. This way will cause you to loose everything on the phone...
    Provide more info or read the other threads that answer all the questions about what is going wrong . This has been explained many times... Good Luck.....

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 2,208, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%
    D-Man's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Customer Since
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dayton, OHIO
    Posts
    164
    Phone
    MB886 & M886



    Same happened to me, never found a way to fix that issue. Try flashing it to cricKet.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Points: 224, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 11.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Customer Since
    July 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    25



    I have the DTS-logo, non-replacement phone. It was the from-the-os update I tried, so I'll take your advice and give the pst installation a try. Thanks for your input.

    ---------- Post added at 02:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:04 PM ----------

    I thought of doing that, but I'm not entirely sure how.
    Last edited by Kavnaugh; 10-06-2012 at 02:30 PM.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 224, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 11.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Customer Since
    July 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    25



    Tried re-installing with pst to no avail. Along with many many other things. I'm beginning to wonder if there's any solution...

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 1,094, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    91

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 224, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 11.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Customer Since
    July 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    25



    Yeah. I get the same error message no matter what I try. I'm back on GB now.


  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,094, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    91



    google is your friend "Error Number 16"

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 224, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 11.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Customer Since
    July 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    25



    I've spent about a total of three hours trying to google Cricket phones getting an "Error number 16" message, only to learn that it's a sprint error. I found one other Cricket user who had the error and there was no fix.

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 1,094, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    91



    just try "error number 16" and this pops up #1


    [Q] Error number 16? - xda-developers





  12. #11
    Junior Member
    Points: 224, Level: 4
    Overall activity: 11.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Customer Since
    July 2012
    Location
    Tacoma, Washington
    Posts
    25



    I've seen that. The most successful answer there was "Call customer service" Which I did. Twice.

  13. #12
    Member
    Points: 1,094, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Norman, OK
    Posts
    91



    well if you read that, then you should realize that someone from tech support is going to have to reset your phone so maybe call again tomorrow or the next day

    from the xda thread...
    I had this same thing. It was a combination of a lot of things that finally fixed the issue. Basically calling 611 and telling them the problem. Forcing the most current prl into the phone and then finally getting the right tech person on the line after 3 days of calling. Its not fixed until you have 2 consecutive days of the phone working right.

    Once they get something working on their end you can finally dial the number you are told to enter and it will finally work.

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 1,374, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 23.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Customer Since
    July 2010
    Location
    Sacramento Ca.
    Posts
    80



    I've been really happy with rooted gingerbread on my phone, reading threads like these makes me appreciate gb even more.

  15. #14
    Member
    Points: 1,516, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    randp1's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin
    Posts
    144
    Phone
    Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by GeneticWeapon View Post
    I've been really happy with rooted gingerbread on my phone, reading threads like these makes me appreciate gb even more.
    Yeah, gb works great. Have to admit though, I got caught up in the ics mania, because it is a newer version than gb, but after trying it the demo didn't function better than gb in my opinion.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  16. #15
    Banned
    Points: 2,650, Level: 31
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 31
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    na
    Posts
    529



    im still running the demo version and it seems to be fine for me.. Maybe i use my phone less then you guys.. Maybe the issue is the download file...

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner