Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

Welcome to Cricket Users!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Overall activity: 14.0%

Rooted!! Now what...?

Greetings,

I'm fairly new to rooting. Fairly new to smart phones in general actually. I'd rooted my Zio prior to taking it swimming (oops) and subsequently buying my Mercury, but it wasn't able to do anywhere near as much as as this phone and I never got beyond Overclock Widget and ES Task Manager.

Now that I've got my Mercury rooted I'd like to delve a little deeper but am not sure where to begin. What are some of your suggestions for next steps after rooting?

Ideally I'd like to make this more like a full Linux desktop and spend less time on my desktop computer. Any functionality I can move to my phone would help with this. Also I'd love anything that makes the UI prettier and more functional.

Here's my sort list of things I'd like to find if they exist:

1: Alternate launcher - I can't stand the rainbow candy coated colorfulness of the Huawei Launcher. It has the option to switch to the stock Android theme but that kills the only feature I liked about the Huawei one, that being the neat little rotating desktop. I've installed Holo Launcher Beta 4 and like it so far, but no option for the nifty 3D desktop. Also it loses my icons whenever I drag one from one page of the desktop to another and I have to enter the app drawer to get them back. What are your favorite launchers for the Mercury?