Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 215
  1. #121
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by Eaglewtchr View Post
    So even tho my backups are all ext4 and this backup has both ext3 and ext4 files it should install and run properly?

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2
    Try it and let us know.

    I really don't think it would be noticeable even if you used ext3 instead of ext4. There is a pretty big difference in the benchmarks, but one usually doesn't actually see it. I suspect that even with the filenames showing ext3, that when you restore, the filesystems will be created as ext4. Execute mount after restoring to confirm. I show p12, p13, and p06 as ext4.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #122
    Member
    Points: 2,292, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    159



    Ok. And I do the execute mount in terminal? What command line do I use exactly and where?

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  4. #123
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    Any terminal emulator will do. Personally, I use ROM Toolbox. You'll find an emulator in there if you look. Once you have a command prompt (no root needed, just the $ prompt will do), just type
    Code:
    mount
    This is my output:

    Code:
    $ mount
    rootfs / rootfs ro,relatime 0 0
    tmpfs /dev tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755 0 0
    devpts /dev/pts devpts rw,relatime,mode=600 0 0
    proc /proc proc rw,relatime 0 0
    sysfs /sys sysfs rw,relatime 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p14 /HWUserData vfat rw,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0002,dmask=0002,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 /.cust_backup vfat ro,relatime,fmask=0000,dmask=0000,allow_utime=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/loop0 /cust ext3 ro,relatime,barrier=0,data=writeback 0 0
    none /acct cgroup rw,relatime,cpuacct 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/asec tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/obb tmpfs rw,relatime,mode=755,gid=1000 0 0
    none /dev/cpuctl cgroup rw,relatime,cpu 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p12 /system ext4 ro,relatime,barrier=1,nodelalloc,data=ordered 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p13 /data ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,barrier=1,nodelalloc,data=ordered,noauto_da_alloc 0 0
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p6 /cache ext4 rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,barrier=1,nodelalloc,data=ordered 0 0
    /dev/block/loop1 /data/app_iq_archive vfat rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,fmask=0000,dmask=0000,allow_utime=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    hwvefs /data/huawei_hwvefs fuse.hwvefs rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,user_id=0,group_id=0,allow_other 0 0
    /dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/sdcard vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/vold/179:33 /mnt/secure/asec vfat rw,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,uid=1000,gid=1015,fmask=0702,dmask=0702,allow_utime=0020,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    tmpfs /mnt/sdcard/.android_secure tmpfs ro,relatime,size=0k,mode=000 0 0
    /dev/block/dm-0 /mnt/asec/gbis.gbandroid-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/dm-1 /mnt/asec/Scantech.Terminal-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/dm-2 /mnt/asec/com.onforce.OnForce-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    /dev/block/dm-3 /mnt/asec/net.androgames.level-1 vfat ro,dirsync,nosuid,nodev,relatime,uid=1000,fmask=0222,dmask=0222,codepage=cp437,iocharset=iso8859-1,shortname=mixed,utf8,errors=remount-ro 0 0
    $
    And that's it. The output lines are very long and will wrap, but you should be able to tell where each new line begins. The first column is the partition, the second is where that partition is mounted, and the third is the filesystem type. The rest has to do with various options.

  5. #124
    Member
    Points: 1,905, Level: 26
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    mkakemon's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Customer Since
    Begining
    Location
    Dayton, Ohio
    Posts
    157
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3





    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  6. #125
    Member
    Points: 2,292, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    159



    Ok. Got it installed. And, CWM stays (doesn't restore Recovery). And 13 12 and 6 are all ext4. Guess it doesn't matter. Looks great sofar.

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  7. #126
    Member
    Points: 10,091, Level: 67
    Overall activity: 0%
    Mathesar's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 23
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    2006
    Location
    Fresno, CA.
    Posts
    221
    Phone
    Moto G



    Is there any info on what was updated and or improved with this latest firmware? I'm currently running Oriax123's Optimized 2.3.6 rom so not sure if it would even be worth changing it.

  8. #127
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by Mathesar View Post
    Is there any info on what was updated and or improved with this latest firmware? I'm currently running Oriax123's Optimized 2.3.6 rom so not sure if it would even be worth changing it.
    Under the hood improvement. CIQ, speech text (something like that) performance.

    Sent from my M886

  9. #128
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    I installed this with no problems whatsoever. Just downloaded, place in backup folder and restored. Swype got an awesome update too

    Sent from my M886

  10. #129
    Member kovis19's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    knoxville, tn
    Posts
    119



    Have to say this update has treated me well. Phone is working flawlessly. I never had many problems to begin with, but i did get constant force reboots on the old ROM, even with revokster or ice installed. Haven't had a single one since update and memory management has been greatly improved overall. I run 2 launchers depending on my needs and do some heavy gaming with little to no lag. Battery losses about 1% an hour in standby, and I've had no issues with data disconnecting.

  11. #130
    Member
    Points: 2,292, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    159



    I'm loving it. No reboot issues everything works. Even voice to text works. My 3g internet speed seems faster too..

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  12. #131
    Member
    Points: 1,458, Level: 21
    Overall activity: 0%
    s23bog's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 16
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    4/2008
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    197
    Phone
    Huawei Mercury



    I think the most important improvement is a significantly reduced "time without signal" (and hence more battery life). Well, the reboots were pretty annoying too.

    OK, that is the biggest improvement - no more random reboots.

  13. #132
    Member kovis19's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    knoxville, tn
    Posts
    119



    Definitely, without question, undisputed champion of this update is the reboot fix. If i had to manually restore one more damn widget... Connectivity improvement is nice though.

  14. #133
    Member
    Points: 2,292, Level: 28
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 12
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    159



    I'm wondering if the other roms problems are from CIQ removal and we haven't attempted that yet. Or because they were modified roms. I don't know but its running great. Nobody said anything about CIQ with the first Ascend, So why worry about it.. If it works don't try and break it..

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2

  15. #134
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,591, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 0%
    salas's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 49
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,677



    Quote Originally Posted by Eaglewtchr View Post
    I'm wondering if the other roms problems are from CIQ removal and we haven't attempted that yet. Or because they were modified roms. I don't know but its running great. Nobody said anything about CIQ with the first Ascend, So why worry about it.. If it works don't try and break it..

    Sent from my M886 using Tapatalk 2
    The first ascend didn't have ciq. And other roms problems are not because CIQ. Revokster has CIQ ice doesn't. The update improves CIQ so its harder to get rid off. And the problem is CIQ works so we want to break it. To me, its invasion of privacy.

    Sent from my M886

  16. #135
    Member
    Points: 2,348, Level: 29
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    XmurdaX's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    138
    Phone
    huawei mercury



    Quote Originally Posted by salas View Post
    The first ascend didn't have ciq. And other roms problems are not because CIQ. Revokster has CIQ ice doesn't. The update improves CIQ so its harder to get rid off. And the problem is CIQ works so we want to break it. To me, its invasion of privacy.

    Sent from my M886
    Agreed, if I want "them" to know my business ill transcript it for them.

    Sent From XmurdaX's Merc

 

 
Page 9 of 15 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner