Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Cricket Offers LTE Roaming on Sprint's Network

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Featured87.jpg 
Views:	804 
Size:	30.2 KB 
ID:	4584


    Starting today, Cricket Wireless should be offering additional LTE roaming coverage for devices which support Sprint's LTE network. Currently only the Samsung Admire 2 and Galaxy S4 meet this requirement.

    So what does this actually mean? Please read closely to fully understand what benefits you will receive.

    How to qualify:


    • Must own a capable device
    • Must be a customer on a 4G LTE rate plan
    • No home market roaming (if you are in a Cricket 4G area, you will only connect to Cricket 4G towers)
    • Only available when traveling outside of Cricket's home network and into Sprint's LTE network coverage area.
    • Limited to certain cities for initial rollout.
    • Expanded coverage available in the future.


    Examples


    If the customer is from Las Vegas (Cricket 4G LTE market)... And the customer travels to Denver (Cricket 3G market)... The customer will not connect to a 4G network -they will connect to Cricket's 3G network.

    If the customer is from Chicago (Cricket 3G market)...

    And the customer travels to Atlanta (Sprint 4G partner coverage area)... The customer will connect to Sprint's 4G network.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Sp, i thought i saw some where that you were trying to port over the S4 to the S3. Would that give the S3 the ability to use sprint LTE towers? Or are there hardware, modem, radio roadblocks that forbid it from working?

  4. #3
    It's life, live it!
    Points: 4,388, Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    short6in's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 66
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    1995
    Location
    Out there!
    Posts
    451
    Phone
    Galaxy S4



    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    Sp, i thought i saw some where that you were trying to port over the S4 to the S3. Would that give the S3 the ability to use sprint LTE towers? Or are there hardware, modem, radio roadblocks that forbid it from working?
    I think there are radio issues with Cricket's GSIII. I don't believe the radio IC has the appropraite bands to access Sprint's LTE network.
    *Only PM me when asked. Please post to the forum first as you and the many members here will benefit from the conversation!"

    Been fixing, flashing, and activating Cricket phones since 2004.

  5. #4
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    Oh well, at least a hybrid prl will let me connect to more sprint towers for 3g while I'm on the road. Has anyone ever pulled a radio from a S3 or S4?

    sent from SP's vanilla 1.1 ROM

    ---------- Post added at 08:17 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------

    I've seen htc radios but not samsung radios on the net.

    sent from SP's vanilla 1.1 ROM

  6. #5
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Let's review these two networks (LTE bands shown only):


    Leap Wireless



    [121]



    United States


    1700 d 4 FDD (?) (?) [REAG-License #3]
    [B 1]



    [96]


    (Denali Spectrum License LLC)

    Leap Wireless



    [121]



    United States


    1700 e 4 FDD December 2011
    [122]



    [123]


    [REAG-License #5]
    [B 2]



    [96]





    Sprint



    United States


    800 26 FDD 2013 (planned)
    [132]



    [133]



    [134]


    [ABC-Licenses in 130 of 175 EA-Areas]
    [C 3]



    [135]



    [136]



    Sprint



    United States


    1900 g 25 FDD July 2012
    [134]



    [137]


    [176 of 176 EA-Licenses]
    [C 1]



    [104]



    Sprint


    (formerly
    Clearwire


    )

    United States


    2500 41 TDD July 2013
    [134]



    [138]



    [139]


    UL/DL Frequencies?
































































    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Pulled from Samsung Support site for the Cricket S4:

    Frequencies and Data Type
    LTE: Bands 2/4/25; CDMA 1x/EVDO Rev.A: 800/AWS/1900MHz


    and again for the S3:

    Frequencies and Data Type
    LTE Dual-band: Band 2 (1900MHz), Band 4 (AWS); CDMA 1x/EVDO Rev A, Tri-band: 800/AWS/1900MHz


    The frequencies match however the bands do not. That's why the S3 can't roam on Sprint LTE. These frequencies are hard coded into the chip itself so unless you're a hardware engineer, not much we can do.
    Last edited by Stephen Proffitt; 10-24-2013 at 07:29 PM.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    i thought sprint was utilizing their 1900mhz spectrum for LTE?

  9. #8
    Gold Member
    Points: 17,941, Level: 85
    Overall activity: 99.2%

    Reputation
    Reputation 94
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    975



    I wonder if over time ATT will evolve away from Sprints LTE with their own LTE (by slowly bringing customers over to GSM) thereby starving sprints coverage reputation.

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Quote Originally Posted by wiseoldman View Post
    I wonder if over time ATT will evolve away from Sprints LTE with their own LTE (by slowly bringing customers over to GSM) thereby starving sprints coverage reputation.
    Essentially that's what will happen making VZW and Sprint team up a bit

    Sent from my Vanilla MI3 Cricket S4
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Points: 594, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    2



    So if I understand this correctly, you'll only roam on Sprint's LTE network if A cricket 3G network is not available? Correct? Meaning that even if I'd bought a Galaxy S4 I wouldn't be able to use Sprint's LTE towers where I live because, even though we don't have Cricket LTE here, we do have Cricket 3G.

    Is that's the case then this isn't a particularly exciting development for me (putting aside the fact that I own an S3 that isn't even able to connect). I guess I'll be more excited when I can tap into AT&T's LTE towers (assuming I'll be able to with the Galaxy S3).

  12. #11
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Quote Originally Posted by dsf3g View Post
    So if I understand this correctly, you'll only roam on Sprint's LTE network if A cricket 3G network is not available? Correct? Meaning that even if I'd bought a Galaxy S4 I wouldn't be able to use Sprint's LTE towers where I live because, even though we don't have Cricket LTE here, we do have Cricket 3G.
    This is correct

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner