Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 470, Level: 9
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    hinesville,GA
    Posts
    10



    Question Sprint s3 on Cricket's 4G

    Okay I just bought a s3 & want to know if when I flash it will I be able to use the 4G since I won't have the cricket 4G sim card?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    probably not, but i'm not 100% sure. it will be hard enough to get a cricket 4g card.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 735, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    6



    does anyone know about an older phone like the htc evo 4g. That doesn't have an sim card for the 4g but will it be able to work on crickets 4g network? maybe with a different PRL.

  5. #4
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by youknowmyname67 View Post
    does anyone know about an older phone like the htc evo 4g. That doesn't have an sim card for the 4g but will it be able to work on crickets 4g network? maybe with a different PRL.
    Nope. Evo 4g is a wimax device. Cricket runs on LTE. PRL is nothing more than just an ability to connect to towers.
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 735, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    phoenix, az
    Posts
    6



    4G LTE correction... sorry...

  7. #6
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by youknowmyname67 View Post
    4G LTE correction... sorry...
    from what I remember, the phone has a non removable sim card...
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  8. #7
    Member
    Points: 723, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    sephiroth878's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    Jan. 2005
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    62
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    Quote Originally Posted by Dina View Post
    from what I remember, the phone has a non removable sim card...
    What phone?? The Sprint S3??

  9. #8
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Yes... Embedded SIM or UICC.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 723, Level: 14
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    sephiroth878's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    Jan. 2005
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    62
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    oh wow, so the phone is a paper-weight lol??

  11. #10
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by sephiroth878 View Post
    What phone?? The Sprint S3??
    Evo 4g LTE....
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 839, Level: 15
    Overall activity: 1.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    las vegas
    Posts
    64



    The s4 has a removable SIM. Can I flash a s4 with bad ESN and get a cricket SIM would this give me LTE capability on cricket?

  13. #12
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Last time I checked no.

    The Cricket SIM card can't even be transferred into another device it was not registered with. It gives you an error when the device tries to read the card.

    Also, Cricket uses different bands for LTE (AWS).
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 2,349, Level: 29
    Overall activity: 49.0%
    shaunjohn's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 14
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Customer Since
    June 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    78
    Phone
    aio HTC One



    theres things i get and things i dont....what I get, cricket metro and us cellular are interchangeable? what i dont is why its safe to flash a sprint gs3 rom on cricket but not metro, and will verizons aws be interchangeable with crickets?

  15. #14
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    The LTE radios use different frequencies that are hard programed into them so unless you're a hardware engineer with the right tools it can't happen. However USC and Cricket share some spectrum so a USC S3 MAY work

    Sent from my Cricket GS4
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner