Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Broadband Partner Coverage / Roaming Coming Soon?

    I heard there might be changes to broadband coming soon that will make service be available in more areas. I don't think Cricket is putting up any more towers, so it probably is partner coverage or roaming.

    We will see..

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Of course it's partner coverage. It's not financially feasible for cricket to add towers just to expand broadband coverage. If they did they would expand voice coverage too.

    Mid July is the time frame by the way.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Of course it's partner coverage. It's not financially feasible for cricket to add towers just to expand broadband coverage. If they did they would expand voice coverage too.

    Mid July is the time frame by the way.
    Do you know if Cricket is going to charge extra for that? I heard that there are going to be price changes for broadband, but I didn't ask for clarification.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Quote Originally Posted by avenue View Post
    Do you know if Cricket is going to charge extra for that? I heard that there are going to be price changes for broadband, but I didn't ask for clarification.
    Yes rate plans will increase by $5 to allow for the nationwide coverage. Existing customers can stay on the plan they are on, but new customer will only have the option of 45, 55, and 65 plans after launch date.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Yes rate plans will increase by $5 to allow for the nationwide coverage. Existing customers can stay on the plan they are on, but new customer will only have the option of 45, 55, and 65 plans after launch date.
    Wow, thanks for the information!

    I'm guessing customers will need to choose one of the new plans to take advantage of the new coverage area. Is that correct?

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 10,804, Level: 68
    Overall activity: 0%
    Woof's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 60
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Right here!
    Posts
    2,039
    Phone
    HTC Evo 3D



    Quote Originally Posted by avenue View Post
    Wow, thanks for the information!

    I'm guessing customers will need to choose one of the new plans to take advantage of the new coverage area. Is that correct?
    Yes, as with all account level changes, this must be customer initiated. Cricket won't go in and change it automatically.
    Of course this is good and bad. I can already here the customers coming in and complaining their modem didn't work somewhere new even though they didn't update their account. Most don't realize that seeing a poster or hearing an ad doesnt make a change to their account.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by Woof View Post
    Yes, as with all account level changes, this must be customer initiated. Cricket won't go in and change it automatically.
    Of course this is good and bad. I can already here the customers coming in and complaining their modem didn't work somewhere new even though they didn't update their account. Most don't realize that seeing a poster or hearing an ad doesnt make a change to their account.
    It would be nice if they would allow new customers to get the old plans, just without the "partner coverage". Some people will probably be upset if they don't go anywhere.

    I think this is just another step to make Cricket truly "nationwide" so they can start selling in Sprint's areas.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    11



    Quote Originally Posted by avenue View Post
    It would be nice if they would allow new customers to get the old plans, just without the "partner coverage". Some people will probably be upset if they don't go anywhere.

    I think this is just another step to make Cricket truly "nationwide" so they can start selling in Sprint's areas.
    Do you think they will be will be following with the voice plans soon then?

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    Quote Originally Posted by cellphonefreak View Post
    Do you think they will be will be following with the voice plans soon then?
    The regular Cricket plans already include roaming on Sprint as "partner coverage". It includes 3G data also.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. HP criticizes Apple's limited partner relationships
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-31-2011, 12:35 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-15-2011, 06:14 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 05:54 AM
  4. PayPal to be an NFC partner in 2011?
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 11:15 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 04:23 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner