Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Glenpool, OK
    Posts
    56



    Cool Need a new phone, help me out guys!

    Hey guys, thinking about getting a new phone but I hate cricket's selection. Any suggestions? I'd like something like the LG G Flex or the Galaxy Note 3? Is there a version of these phones that would work on cricket? I'm open to recommendations.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Quote Originally Posted by cosceola94 View Post
    Hey guys, thinking about getting a new phone but I hate cricket's selection. Any suggestions? I'd like something like the LG G Flex or the Galaxy Note 3? Is there a version of these phones that would work on cricket? I'm open to recommendations.
    Note 3 is a great phone. MMS is a bit iffy on it though. If you do end up getting one, get a sprint variant.
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    Quote Originally Posted by cosceola94 View Post
    Hey guys, thinking about getting a new phone but I hate cricket's selection. Any suggestions? I'd like something like the LG G Flex or the Galaxy Note 3? Is there a version of these phones that would work on cricket? I'm open to recommendations.
    Anything with CDMA capability can be flashed to Cricket however if you're in an lte area you will not get it on a flashed device.

    You want a flagship device? Get the Cricket S4. Otherwise wait until AT&T takes over and get your phone as they may add more variety later.

    Just my two cents

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  5. #4
    Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Glenpool, OK
    Posts
    56



    Any eta on the AT&T takeover?

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    June at the latest afaik

    Sent from my SCH-R970C using Tapatalk
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  7. #6
    Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Glenpool, OK
    Posts
    56



    Ok, well I'll hold out a little longer. But question, if AT&T is gsm and cricket is cdma, how is that supposed to work out? Lol and also, any idea when Tulsa Ok will see 4g?

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,153, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    Cricket_tech's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Denver,CO
    Posts
    26
    Phone
    Android



    s4 is a nice phone specially for android users

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    From what I have gathered from the various reports, AT&T is going to not follow T-Mobile's lead with MetroPCS and they're going to maintain the CDMA network indefinitely. LTE is LTE but the frequencies are different. Hence why there are 2 seperate radios in CDMA phones. One for EvDo and one for LTE. The moment the acquisition is complete, AT&T only has to flip a switch to allow us LTE access anywhere they have LTE coverage which is most of the country.

    The acquisition gives AT&T the bands that Cricket owns and from what I know about the way the towers work, they just have to do some frequency adjustment or possibly an addition then activate it.

    I personally own the S4 and let me tell you, it's freaking amazing. I'll be buying the S5 though, but that's because I like bleeding edge tech plus it gives me a new phone to work with.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  10. #9
    Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Glenpool, OK
    Posts
    56



    Thanks for the explanation, but yeah, I'd get the s4 but with the s5 right around the corner I don't wanna waste my money. I got the s3 right before the s4 and I was so disappointed

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    I bought the S3 in December and then the S4 came out in June. I bought the S4 on launch day without hesitation. I'll probably do the same with the S5, but I still haven't decided yet. It'll be worth it.

    Dat quad core 2.5GHz processor and the 5.1"(iirc) screen
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  12. #11
    Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Glenpool, OK
    Posts
    56



    Wish I could do that lol but sadly I can only afford a new phone every couple years

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 19,119, Level: 87
    Overall activity: 0%
    Stephen Proffitt's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 78
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    1,522
    Phone
    LG G2



    I can't really afford it either, but I try to stay on the bleeding edge with my tech. I've let my PC suffer for my phones to be honest.
    My work on the CDMA Cricket S3 and S4 are now obsolete. Thanks for all the support when I was actively working on them!

    Feel free to PM me only after you've posted on the forums.

    If you need to buy something from Ebay, please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  14. #13
    Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Glenpool, OK
    Posts
    56



    Mind's the complete opposite lol I just got a new computer last fall. Quad core Intel i7 with an amd 2gb graphics card, 250 gig ssd and 8 gigs of ram :-)

    Sent from my SCH-R530C using Tapatalk

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner