Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 651, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    50



    Please help with a signal reception issue, I really want to stay with Cricket

    I'm new to a lot of this, I've had Cricket now for 10 years and have recently moved to a new home, my issue now is that I live in a basement of a house that gets almost zero Cricket reception/signal. I'm actually still using a Motorola Razr, with the Razr I get 1 bar if I'm lucky, it's not just Cricket though it's any CDMA network Sprint and Verizon also barely work in my home. I recently purchased a Optimus C and basically get no bars in my basement and 1x internet if I'm lucky. So here is my question instead of having to purchase a $350.00 signal booster/repeater is there a solution that when I'm only in my home I can switch to my Wifi/router and make and receive calls and make and receive texts somehow using Gmail and VOIP? and if that is possible would the person texting or calling my standard cricket phone number be routed to me thru Gmail? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also would I have to port my number to Google Voice? If my phone is connected to my wifi while i'm say asleep but the phone has zero cell signal will I still receive the incoming call just with the router/wifi??
    Last edited by HAMMER37; 08-09-2011 at 05:28 AM.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 51,481, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    avenue's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 51
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    2,805



    You can try GrooveIP for calls and the Google Voice application for text messaging. You need Google Voice for both. So, I'd recommend giving out your new Google Voice number, or porting your number to Google Voice.

    And, yes, you will still receive a call over WiFi even if you don't have a signal.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2011, 07:20 PM
  2. Cricket Flashed Droid 2 - Issue with Long Texts
    By captaincatalyst in forum Verizon Motorola Droid 2 (a955)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 06:32 PM
  3. GUIDELINES: Cricket Network Issue Forum (talk, text, MMS, and Internet errors)
    By admin in forum Cricket Network Issues and Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-27-2011, 09:00 AM
  4. FCC on the hunt for cellphone signal jammers
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-11-2011, 10:17 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 06:10 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner