Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 109, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Customer Since
    not yet
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2



    Porting issue ..can anyone help me understand the problem?

    Hello everyone,

    I'm new here and looked through the older posts, but did not see anything regarding porting problems. Sooooo, here I am.

    I want to use Cricket as my SP because they get good service in my area at my house. But I do not want to lose my old number. I have had Verizon since 2003 with the same number.

    But when I tried to get the number ported over, Cricket customer service told me they can't port my Verizon number over to a monthly plan, but could port it over if I went on a "pre-paid" plan. ????????

    I'm not familiar with all the cell phone technologies, but I do know "porting" from a computer standpoint and know how porting works. I can even port my Verizon wireless number to MagicJack and GoogleVoice .... and to a Cricket "pre-paid" plan, but NOT to a regular Cricket monthly plan.

    I have had endless conversations with Cricket customer service regarding this. They claim it is because they do not have a Cricket store in Palm Springs, CA where my Verizon number was issued. I live in San Diego now and have for the last 5 years and have the same number since 2003.

    I just do not understand why this would be any problem, since I could port to a Cricket "pre-paid" plan, MagicJack, Google, any other major carrier with no issues!

    Can anyone please explain to me how ths would be a problem for Cricket to do??? If they can port to a "pre-paid" plan, why in the world could they not port to a regular montly plan??? A "port" is a "port" and nothing more than assigning numbers for the routing. I'm just trying to understand this one.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    If cricket has no market in that area code, then they wont port over the number because of coverage, and cricket is all prepaid what they are referring to is PAY-GO as your option

  4. #3
    It's life, live it!
    Points: 4,388, Level: 42
    Overall activity: 0%
    short6in's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 66
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    1995
    Location
    Out there!
    Posts
    451
    Phone
    Galaxy S4



    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.E View Post
    If cricket has no market in that area code, then they wont port over the number because of coverage, and cricket is all prepaid what they are referring to is PAY-GO as your option
    Mr. E put it very nicely! Cricket can only port numbers to the monthly plan when they are issued from areas where they have built out their own towers, and carry an FCC license. If they do not own a license for that area or they have not built out their license, they cannot port that number.

    On the Pay-Go side, the reason they can do it there, is Cricket runs Pay-Go as an MVNO of Sprint in that area. So, because Cricket would be using Sprint's towers and thus Sprint's license, they can port that number over.

    Where I work, Cricket's service stops about 15 miles south and most of the residents in those areas work in Cricket's service area. However, most of their telephone I cannot port because they originate in an area where Cricket has no license or has not built out their license. I lose some business because of I can't port a number, but then I tell them about Google Voice and most of them still purchase a phone and service from me.

    You could port your number to Google Voice then route all calls to your new cell phone number and have the best of both worlds.
    *Only PM me when asked. Please post to the forum first as you and the many members here will benefit from the conversation!"

    Been fixing, flashing, and activating Cricket phones since 2004.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,022, Level: 40
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Customer Since
    1000 B.C.
    Location
    Trench Town
    Posts
    1,166
    Phone
    Kyocera K132



    Quote Originally Posted by short6in View Post
    Mr. E put it very nicely! Cricket can only port numbers to the monthly plan when they are issued from areas where they have built out their own towers, and carry an FCC license. If they do not own a license for that area or they have not built out their license, they cannot port that number.

    On the Pay-Go side, the reason they can do it there, is Cricket runs Pay-Go as an MVNO of Sprint in that area. So, because Cricket would be using Sprint's towers and thus Sprint's license, they can port that number over.

    Where I work, Cricket's service stops about 15 miles south and most of the residents in those areas work in Cricket's service area. However, most of their telephone I cannot port because they originate in an area where Cricket has no license or has not built out their license. I lose some business because of I can't port a number, but then I tell them about Google Voice and most of them still purchase a phone and service from me.

    You could port your number to Google Voice then route all calls to your new cell phone number and have the best of both worlds.
    Im loving the google voice option, now I wont turn anyone away!!!!!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 109, Level: 2
    Overall activity: 2.0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Customer Since
    not yet
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    2



    Thanks to everyone for the replies!

    Quote Originally Posted by short6in View Post
    Mr. E put it very nicely! Cricket can only port numbers to the monthly plan when they are issued from areas where they have built out their own towers, and carry an FCC license. If they do not own a license for that area or they have not built out their license, they cannot port that number.

    On the Pay-Go side, the reason they can do it there, is Cricket runs Pay-Go as an MVNO of Sprint in that area. So, because Cricket would be using Sprint's towers and thus Sprint's license, they can port that number over.

    Where I work, Cricket's service stops about 15 miles south and most of the residents in those areas work in Cricket's service area. However, most of their telephone I cannot port because they originate in an area where Cricket has no license or has not built out their license. I lose some business because of I can't port a number, but then I tell them about Google Voice and most of them still purchase a phone and service from me.

    You could port your number to Google Voice then route all calls to your new cell phone number and have the best of both worlds.
    First, thanks to everyone for the replies. I understand a portion of that (not having their own towers in the originating area), but then how does other's like MagicJack and Google and other providers have no problem in porting this same originating number? Magicjack, Google and others do not have towers in that area and its not like Palm Springs, CA is in the middle of bf'd Egypt either.

    That is why I am confused, since it seems that only Cricket reguar monthly plan is the only thing that can't be ported.

    Sorry, just frustrated with what seemed to be an easy task turns ot to be a strange monster of a mountain.

    Thanks again for all the replies!

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 21,620, Level: 92
    Overall activity: 46.0%
    indica's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 63
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Customer Since
    jan 2011
    Location
    chicago, IL
    Posts
    1,317
    Phone
    samsung Chrono



    Quote Originally Posted by SouthPacific View Post
    how does other's like MagicJack and Google and other providers have no problem in porting this same originating number? Magicjack, Google and others do not have towers in that area and its not like Palm Springs, CA is in the middle of bf'd Egypt either.
    they are not the same type of provider as cricket. google and magic jack are "virtual providers" and can tell the FCC they have service available in any location, therefore can have access to the phone numbers.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner