Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29



    throttled on $45 plan

    Hey guys, I've had the droid x flashed to cricket and it works great. I've been using pandora a lot and 2 weeks ago songs would not pay through, I did a speed test and it showed that my download was 100kbps (usually was 600kbps) I didn't know the $45 plan could get throttled. It's May 2nd and I did a speed check and its still at 100kbps I'm a little hectic to know why I didn't get my regular speed back.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,330, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    avillal87's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 21
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Laredo, Texas
    Posts
    642
    Phone
    3VO



    It can be that they have figured out that we use sprint towers to grab better speed but could be wrong. Tri-band area or not. Try different prl. It may help

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29



    can you tell me what to do? Thanks

  5. #4
    Wrecked Johnson
    Guest


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    My suggestion would be to go on the ANDROID SMARTPHONE RATE PLAN as it was designed for ANDROID phones. The $45 plan is nice but your trying to be frugal and cheat the system things dont always work out when you are attempting to beat the system.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29



    Quote Originally Posted by Wrecked Johnson View Post
    My suggestion would be to go on the ANDROID SMARTPHONE RATE PLAN as it was designed for ANDROID phones. The $45 plan is nice but your trying to be frugal and cheat the system things dont always work out when you are attempting to beat the system.
    If I got the android plan would the cap would disappear? I didn't know until now that $45 capped, definitely $55 for sure gets capped after 1Gb.

    My story is that I had a motorola z6m on my $45 plan and the internet capabilities were limited so I found this website and bought a Droid X and worked great until now that its throttled.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,194, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    RoWilJr's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Where you wanna be
    Posts
    650
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    No... $55 plan is capped too.

    Sent from my Merc using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29



    Yeah that's what I thought, switching to it might be an expensive guess to whether it will un-throttle. . It's already may 3rd, bill is paid but I'm not happy with the 100kbps.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,194, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    RoWilJr's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Where you wanna be
    Posts
    650
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    That's why I WiFi as much as possible...

    Sent from my Merc using Tapatalk

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29



    Quote Originally Posted by RoWilJr View Post
    That's why I WiFi as much as possible...

    Sent from my Merc using Tapatalk

    Yeah definitely, but what can I do now to get unthrottled?

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Points: 4,194, Level: 41
    Overall activity: 100.0%
    RoWilJr's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 27
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Where you wanna be
    Posts
    650
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3



    Don't think you can do anything until the next billing cycle... Could be wrong though.

    Sent from my Merc using Tapatalk

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 6,229, Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    140



    They are capping all plans now. 1 reason is specifically due to this ^^ it is theoretically stealing.. You are knowingly and willingly defrauding them by using a plan that specifically states and was designed for feature phones only. This reason is why others suffer and one of the reasons why the caps were appearing. At one point this was needed to get phones working on cricket and could be justifiable. Now they have a plan specifically for this there is no reason to continue doing. If it's to save money, well the best way to save is to do talk and text.

    /endrant

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,600, Level: 22
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29



    Alright guys, thanks for the feedback.
    Last edited by sim_io; 05-05-2012 at 01:00 PM.

  14. #13
    Junior Member
    Points: 1,176, Level: 18
    Overall activity: 0%
    emottau's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Portland, Oregon, United States
    Posts
    5



    I have been with cricket since it first appeared her in pdx and have known people who held positions giving them insite into crickets business stratagy that would normally elude me and i can say that those few people out there exploiting the $45 have made zero factor in the decision to throttle users bandwidth. You're off the hook. Also, do not mistake how the usage is being measured here folks, its not in anyway tied to the billing cycle. It is a ROLLING 30 day total. That means that today all the usage from the current day to the same day one month ago. Tomorrow that total will will be less that usage measured on the last day of todays measurement and the data used tomorrow will be added on instead. If you work to keep your usage lower then in was on this day a month ago you should eventually even out.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner