Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: cant get msl

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Points: 593, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    rockford, il
    Posts
    10



    cant get msl

    when i try to read it comes back with an error. 'PHONE ask for spc.spc is required'

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Member
    Points: 1,007, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Prinny's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    85601
    Posts
    78



    SPC = Service programing code, it's a 6 digit number required to program or read. There are threads that mention it and how to get the code in the flashing section.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Points: 593, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    rockford, il
    Posts
    10



    Quote Originally Posted by Prinny View Post
    SPC = Service programing code, it's a 6 digit number required to program or read. There are threads that mention it and how to get the code in the flashing section.
    i am unable to get it with CDMA workshop. that is the error im getting.

  5. #4
    Member
    Points: 1,007, Level: 17
    Overall activity: 0%
    Prinny's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 13
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    85601
    Posts
    78



    CDMA workshop does not read it from the phone, it calculates it with a widget in the tools menu. ctrl + c

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,330, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    avillal87's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 21
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Laredo, Texas
    Posts
    642
    Phone
    3VO



    It may have the update

    Sent from my SPH-P100 using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Member
    Points: 6,229, Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    140



    If it's an HTC device you need to select HTC Method. Sense you posted in HTC EVO 3D, Ill assume its a HTC device, you need to select HTC Method from the drop down then click read.

    MSL = SPC
    Same damn thing, MSL is actually the more correct term. It's just SPC started taking off more.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,330, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    avillal87's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 21
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Laredo, Texas
    Posts
    642
    Phone
    3VO



    I agree. If you are updated to the newest ota then if want to get msl then you will need to root or call sprint but I guess don't have sprint right. Next thing to do is root the device with he unlock method I made or others have made. It easy to unlock the root and download msl reader from Google play or market. Zero it out and ur done.

    Sent from my SPH-P100 using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 6,229, Level: 51
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    140



    You dont need to do that, you can simply read the MSL / SPC using HTC Method in CDMWS. I just said that one post above your's.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 361, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    flashwizardchri's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Lg EnV Touch



    I used this method when flashing a HTC hero that would give me the msl code using ADB

    To get your MSL code all you have to do is turn usb debugging on and connect your phone to your computer. Then run a command prompt from your platform-tools (where adb is) folder in the android sdk then type in "adb logcat" you should start to see mostly random things showing up. now go to the dialer on your phone and type in "*#*#3282#*#*" click on edit now watch the command prompt on your screen while you type in 6random numbers into the text field on your phone. when you click ok on your phone you should see something on the command prompt that says "I/MSL_Checker( 178): MSL response incoming!!" followed by "I/MSL_Checker( 178): MSL result : xxxxxx" where xxxxxx is your msl code. now just tye that in on your phone in the field and your in. You do not have to have root to do this. I have tried it on a stock unrooted nexus s 4g and it works

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 1,635, Level: 23
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 19
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    103



    not to sound offensive or rude. but if they cant read spc through workshop do u think theyd be able to figure out adb? workshop is by far the easiest.

  12. #11
    Member Oli Tinsley's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Customer Since
    01/2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh, Pa
    Posts
    93
    Phone
    O.G. EVO/ Dinc 2



    Have you tried msl reader from the play store yet?

    Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Points: 361, Level: 7
    Overall activity: 0%
    flashwizardchri's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Lg EnV Touch



    although i do agree with u however a method is method just because they cant figure it out on cdma workshop which is definitely the easiest by far its still worth a shop for them to try. Im not here to knock someones intelligence im just here to help them

  14. #13
    Senior Member
    Points: 11,330, Level: 70
    Overall activity: 99.0%
    avillal87's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 21
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Laredo, Texas
    Posts
    642
    Phone
    3VO



    If it the news updates 2.17 then you need root. To use msl reader, unlocking the bootloader will be your best option at this moment and where the guy ask the question. Thanks it work or no it did work. What up with that.

    Sent from my SPH-P100 using Tapatalk

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Points: 593, Level: 11
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    rockford, il
    Posts
    10



    i tried to unlock bootloader using HTC Method and it didnt work. 2.17.651.5 Hboot 1.5. Unlock_code.bin says successful in cmd but does not give me the last screen on the phone to unlock the bootloader. still says locked in fastboot.

  16. #15
    Nerd
    Points: 7,882, Level: 59
    Overall activity: 0%
    Dina's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 84
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Omaha
    Posts
    824
    Phone
    Kyocera Dorado



    Get the msl on ebay, or use Rev Skills demo version.
    If we knew what it was we were doing, it would not be called research, would it?

 

 
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner