Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3



    Sprint ROMS on the Cricket Phone?

    Are we able to flash ROMS found on the internet to a Cricket phone? I like some of them and would like to try them... Or would they change the cricket settings back to Sprint?

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,403, Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    154-4bdu114h's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Customer Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,031
    Phone
    iPhone 4



    .................................................. ..................

    No.. just no.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1



    Quote Originally Posted by kidmet View Post
    Are we able to flash ROMS found on the internet to a Cricket phone? I like some of them and would like to try them... Or would they change the cricket settings back to Sprint?
    Yes you can flash any custom rom you like, if thats what your talking about, like from the devs at xda, you can flash any you like, these usually make the device much improved in battery life and performance, this will not change your phone back to sprint, you will only have to redo the APN for mms which is easy

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Points: 8,403, Level: 61
    Overall activity: 0%
    154-4bdu114h's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Customer Since
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    1,031
    Phone
    iPhone 4



    From what I understand: He is wondering if he can flash ROMs made for Sprint phones to a Cricket phone, the answer is no, it won't work, and it will brick the device.

  6. #5
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    He didn't seem to word it very well. Maybe when someone flashed his phone, they put a "Cricket" branded ROM on it.

    Anyways, I've been using
    ★ ☆ ★|ROM|Nightly|◄●|Synergy 3Dvo|●►|2.3.4RLS1(zeus mods)|☆TESTING EXT4 TWEAKS|★ ☆ ★ - xda-developers


    .

    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Points: 543, Level: 10
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    HTC EVO 3D



    yes, you can flash evo 3d roms on the evo 3d even if they are made for sprint. You just have to make sure to back up your APNs and flash away.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Points: 179, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    dec 2012
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    galaxy s3



    hello i am new on this forum, i came from sprint and just flashed to cricket my galaxy s3, i am rooted on freegs3 rom themed thru morfology society at xda. thanks to everybody on this thread now i know i can flash roms or update my rom...i found an app called apn backup&restore, is somebody used this app when changing roms? also can i flash new modem? thanks for any help... great forum btw!

  9. #8
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    You can flash all of this stuff just like you normally would. If you use an AOSP ROM, it's a little more time consuming to get it into DIAG mode though. Changing the ROMs and updating the modem shouldn't touch the MDN / MIN / data programming though.

    Starting with ICS, APN Backup and Restore doesn't work IIRC.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Points: 179, Level: 3
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Customer Since
    dec 2012
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    galaxy s3


    1 out of 1 members liked this post.

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisngrod View Post
    You can flash all of this stuff just like you normally would. If you use an AOSP ROM, it's a little more time consuming to get it into DIAG mode though. Changing the ROMs and updating the modem shouldn't touch the MDN / MIN / data programming though.

    Starting with ICS, APN Backup and Restore doesn't work IIRC.
    Thank you! I found that apn backup&restore devs post on market that google disable apn restore or delete, they find a workaround using titanium backup making app a system app also they have "remove ics warning" on settings.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails screenshot_2012-12-15-10-58-54.png  
    Last edited by davidow; 12-15-2012 at 11:04 AM.

  11. #10
    Jumpmaster
    Points: 2,456,084, Level: 100
    Overall activity: 0%
    Chris Rodriguez's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 456
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Customer Since
    Sept 2010
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    4,421
    Phone
    Note 3 / Galaxy S5



    Cool. That's good info. Should probably be in its own thread.
    Please check the forum and post there before PMing me. I have over 674 unread PMs due to the fact that they are issues which should have been addressed here.

    If you need to buy something from (Ebay), please use this LINK every time and support the forum!

  12. #11
    Member
    Points: 692, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%
    jhinojosa1981's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    47
    Phone
    huawei mercury



    Hi I was wondering if you could clarify I have a cricket gs3 can I put a rom on it that was made for the sprint gs3.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

  13. #12
    Senior Member
    Points: 2,596, Level: 30
    Overall activity: 65.0%
    Rites's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 18
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    san antonio, tx
    Posts
    387
    Phone
    PAE3D, ICS Merc



    You can flash sprint branded roms onto cricket phones, normally you just have to fix apn settings, but sometimes you might actually have to fix data/net settings which I do with qpst

    Sent from my A200 using Tapatalk 2

  14. #13
    Member
    Points: 692, Level: 13
    Overall activity: 0%
    jhinojosa1981's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    47
    Phone
    huawei mercury



    Oh ok well im kinda a noob so may not try not even sure how to change those settings but if I flash one and nothing works right I can just flash back to stock with odin right ive flashed back before but not from a rom just messed up my phone some how

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Custom ROMS
    By yoshix003 in forum Flashing Tools / Files / General Discussion (programming)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-19-2011, 12:24 PM
  2. Evo with GB roms
    By xTONEx in forum Sprint HTC EVO 4G
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2011, 03:17 PM
  3. cricket roms
    By Timmothy Web in forum Sprint HTC EVO 4G
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2011, 01:44 PM
  4. Gingerbread SDK ROMs everywhere
    By CU-News in forum Android News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 02:46 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 11:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner