Sign Up Now FAQ
Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

 
Welcome to Cricket Users!



Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Points: 1,304, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    gordies.swc's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    dinuba, cali
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    HTC EVO 4G



    what do i need to do to get web/data??

    why must this phone be so difficult to flash to cricket!!
    ok well i been searching the web on how to get web & data running. i read that u2nl & autostart.sh will get it going but when i try pushing it all i get is:


    C:\Users\Acer>cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    $ mkdir /data/opt/
    mkdir /data/opt/
    mkdir: can't create directory '/data/opt/': File exists
    $ exit
    exit

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb remount
    remount failed: No such file or directory

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\u2nl /system/
    bin/u2nl
    failed to copy 'c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\u2nl' to '/system/bin/u2nl': Read-o
    nly file system

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\autostart.sh
    /data/opt/autostart.sh
    failed to copy 'c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\autostart.sh' to '/data/opt/autosta
    rt.sh': Permission denied

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    $ chmod 0755 /system/bin/u2nl
    chmod 0755 /system/bin/u2nl
    chmod: /system/bin/u2nl: Read-only file system
    $ chmod 0755 /data/opt/autostart.sh
    chmod 0755 /data/opt/autostart.sh
    chmod: /data/opt/autostart.sh: Operation not permitted



    there isnt really much on flashing web to the moment or most likely i just missed it. but has anyone been successful with this?
    i read other forums with people saying they have talk,text,web,apps but no mms. dont really care to much about the mms but i know its possible to get web/data just cant seem to figure it out.

  2. Remove this advertisement.
  3. #2
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    Quote Originally Posted by gordies.swc View Post
    C:\Users\Acer>cd c:\android-sdk-windows\tools

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    $ mkdir /data/opt/
    mkdir /data/opt/
    mkdir: can't create directory '/data/opt/': File exists - The directory already exists
    $ exit
    exit

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb remount
    remount failed: No such file or directory - 'remount' command didn't work, meaning /system & /data isn't available and R/W

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\u2nl /system/
    bin/u2nl
    failed to copy 'c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\u2nl' to '/system/bin/u2nl': Read-o
    nly file system
    - Failed because of remount ^^^

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\autostart.sh
    /data/opt/autostart.sh
    failed to copy 'c:\android-sdk-windows\tools\autostart.sh' to '/data/opt/autosta
    rt.sh': Permission denied
    - Failed because of remount ^^^

    c:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb shell
    $ chmod 0755 /system/bin/u2nl - '$' == non-root user, need to enter 'su' and get '#' sign to use root commands
    chmod 0755 /system/bin/u2nl
    chmod: /system/bin/u2nl: Read-only file system - Needs root to modify file permissions, regardless if u2nl is located there or not (it isn't because remount didn't work)
    $ chmod 0755 /data/opt/autostart.sh
    chmod 0755 /data/opt/autostart.sh
    chmod: /data/opt/autostart.sh: Operation not permitted - Needs root to modify file permissions.
    Installing u2nl / autostart is universal.

    tl;dr; enter 'su' command after entering 'adb shell' . Mount /system partition R/W by any means necessary, whether shell commands, root explorer, or 'adb remount'

  4. #3
    Member
    Points: 1,304, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    gordies.swc's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    dinuba, cali
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    HTC EVO 4G



    Quote Originally Posted by mraabhimself View Post
    Installing u2nl / autostart is universal.

    tl;dr; enter 'su' command after entering 'adb shell' . Mount /system partition R/W by any means necessary, whether shell commands, root explorer, or 'adb remount'
    hmm...so then like this??

    cdc:\android\tools <enter>
    adb shell <enter>
    su <enter>
    adb remount <enter>
    adb push c:\android\tools\u2nl /system/bin/u2nl<enter>
    adb push c:\android\tools\autostart.sh/data/opt/autostart.sh <enter>
    Now:
    adb shell <enter>
    chmod 0755 /system/bin/u2nl <enter>
    chmod 0755 /data/opt/autostart.sh <enter>
    adb reboot <enter>

    EDITED:
    this might be a noob question but i can do this with file expert?
    Last edited by gordies.swc; 09-30-2011 at 04:19 PM. Reason: Had a question.

  5. #4
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    You know GreenK45 (link below in signature) will work right? If you have root, that is.

  6. #5
    Member
    Points: 1,304, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    gordies.swc's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    dinuba, cali
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    HTC EVO 4G



    I LOVE THAT APP!!!
    i tryed that tho & it just sits on installing.doesnt go anywhere from there.

    i used file expert but the autostart.apk doesnt ask for supermission....
    also, my 3g icon is not showing .
    Last edited by gordies.swc; 09-30-2011 at 05:08 PM.

  7. #6
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    It just hangs at 'Enabling', what do I do?
    Install Busybox, I use version 1.18.4 when testing. I recommend using stericson's Busybox installer app from the Market.

  8. #7
    Recognized Developer
    Points: 8,091, Level: 60
    Overall activity: 0%

    Reputation
    Reputation 35
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fresno, CA
    Posts
    337
    Phone
    GS3, GNex, RAZR



    you need to program data settings. If the 3G logo isn't visible (i.e. a data connection is available / is connected) then using the proxy workaround isn't gonna help you any.

  9. #8
    Member
    Points: 1,304, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    gordies.swc's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    dinuba, cali
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    HTC EVO 4G



    Quote Originally Posted by mraabhimself View Post
    you need to program data settings. If the 3G logo isn't visible (i.e. a data connection is available / is connected) then using the proxy workaround isn't gonna help you any.
    this is what i did for data:

    3.Click M.IP (may be M.IPv6 and set Mobile IP Behavior as MOB + Simp...
    4. Select any profiles (there should be 1 or 2) listed under User Profiles, andclick edit. Do the following for all profiles.
    5. Make sure that "Profile enabled" is checked and enter in thefollowing:

    NAI:
    your10digitcricketnumber@mycricket.com
    Tethered NAI:
    your10digitcricketnumber@mycricket.com

    6. Change home address, primary ha, and secondary HA to all zeros.
    7. On both HA Shared and AAA Shared Secret, click enter text string and type inthe following password (all lower case): cricket
    8. click ok
    9. Set active user as 0.
    10. Click PPP Config
    11. The "Um" Button
    12. Under user ID enter
    your10digitcricketnumber@mycricket.com as well as for tethered NAI. If a text box isblack with red lines in it, click it and press ctrl D. Enter cricket in thepassword box.
    13.Click "AN" Button and repeat step 12.

  10. #9
    Member
    Points: 1,304, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    gordies.swc's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    dinuba, cali
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    HTC EVO 4G



    3G icon is up...phew!!
    Last edited by gordies.swc; 09-30-2011 at 05:50 PM.

  11. #10
    Member
    Points: 1,304, Level: 20
    Overall activity: 0%
    gordies.swc's Avatar
    Reputation
    Reputation 10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    dinuba, cali
    Posts
    92
    Phone
    HTC EVO 4G



    Red face

    Thanks mrabbhimself for the help. Finally got everything up &running.
    the only thing is web goes out constantly &I'm wondering if its because in settings>about phone> under network it says sprint & not cricket

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. no data are 3g
    By NAGATOPAIN in forum Verizon Motorola Droid 2 (a955)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-18-2012, 11:02 AM
  2. How to get data/mms on evo 4G
    By Holt95 in forum Sprint HTC EVO 4G
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2011, 12:33 PM
  3. need help with getting data to work
    By xzhenkax in forum Verizon Motorola Droid 2 (a955)
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 03:29 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-24-2011, 04:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Advertise With Us?
Advertise with us? (Position 1 - Advertise with Us) Small Banner