Signup Now
In order to make a post or to start a new thread and or to interact with other
members of this board, you wil need to create an account first.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You have to register before you can post. If you have any problems, please contact us.
Flash a phone to Cricket Wireless Become a supporting member of Cricket Users Forum

Welcome to Cricket Users!

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
    Overall activity: 3.0%

It was not per say something I sought out to do specifically, but once MMS is working bi-directional and correctly then iMessage should work by phone number for you. It sounds like your bundle is the problem. What did you use to flash it? And can I assume MMS is not fully functional, and im new to the whole forum thing so I am not sure how to quote your replay/post.

---------- Post added at 01:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:48 AM ----------

Just a bit of insight why DATA/MMS is important on the iPhone:

iMessage is similar to text messaging except it uses your data connection over the internet rather than your mobile phone providers SMS (text message) service. By data connection I mean GPRS, EDGE, 3G or WiFi.

iMessage does not cost anything to use as such, but it does use your data connection so if you are paying for that then there is a cost for the amount of data transferred (not much of just sending text).

iMessage messages can only be sent to people using iOS5+ devices with active iMessage accounts (you can turn iMessage on/off in settings).

If your iOS5+ device cannot reach the other iOS5+ device via iMessage within a certain time frame then your device will send the message via standard SMS (text message) instead (assuming your device supports SMS).